Rate This

Your rating: None Average: 3.1 (16 votes)

Rabat Named UNESCO World Heritage Site


By Vicky Karantzavelou

During the UNESCO meeting held in Saint Petersburg, the World Heritage Committee honored the Moroccan capital by deciding to add it to the cultural treasures of the World Heritage List.

The archaeological site of Chellah, the Kasbah of the Udayas, the Almohad gates and wall, the Hassan Mosque, the Medina, the modern town, and the Mausoleum of Mohammed V were all identified as precious features of the city to be protected and preserved.

Morocco is home to nine UNESCO World Heritage sites: the Medinas of Marrakech, Fes, Essaouira, and Tetouan; the Ksar of Aït Benhaddou; the historic city of Meknes; the archaeological site of Volubilis; the Portuguese fortified city of Mazagan (El Jadida); and, now, Rabat.

The city is also becoming more accessible to foreign visitors: since the opening of a new airport terminal in January 2012, up to 1.5 million passengers a year can be accommodated. Rabat is also served by several airlines offering flights from the main European cities.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.

Esta web utiliza cookies para obtener datos estadísticos de la navegación de sus usuarios. Si continúas navegando consideramos que aceptas su uso. Más información